Festa Italiana Presents Artisans for 2012 Festa Italiana July 19-22nd 2012

Festa Presents the 2012 Artisans showing and exhibiting in the Fine Art Tent on the North end of the Summer Fest Grounds.

Located just past the US Cellular stage, the tent is shared with both Fine Art and our

Italian Cinema and next to us on our east flank is the Italian Mercado. On our West flank is the Culture tent across from us we will be moving Opera and looking at a fashion show (the old culture tent). Behind us at the Stage (last stage on the grounds) will be the new home of historic Italian Immigrant Photographs. This is the largest collection known in the world. Mario’s tent will also have the Italian and religious relics of our past.

All of our Artisans are of Italian descent and represent most of the regions in Italy.

We will have a mix of Authors; this year Art has released a new book, Paul Saline has published a new book and Larry Baldasarro. Hand crafted Artisans: sculptors, jewelry makers, Painters, Photographers, Ornate Plaster workers, Pottery, ornaments, fused glass, illustrators, ring makers, wearable art.

Here is a run down of each of the Artisans and an interview for you to get to know them a little better and be sure to visit us at Festa Italiana 2012 in the Italian Fine Art and Cinema tent.

 

Art Cola – Author

Paul Salsini – Author

Larry Baldasarro – Author more later

Paula Christensen D’Stefanis -Wearalbes, Oil painter

Marie White Personalized Ornaments Painter

Angela White- Potter

Yvonne Stevenson- Oil and Acrylic Painter

Maryann Shall- Jewelry Artisan

Deb Stubbe Burkhart (Orlandini) – Illustrator & Painter

Eugene Orlandini- Historical-Ornate Plaster worker – more later

Shelly Orlandini- Photographer – more later

Valerie Erato- Ring Artisan

Valorie Schleicher (Sanfilippo) – Sculptor and Photographer

Donna Pogliano- Jewelry Artisan

Susan Kamholz– painter

Josh Christensen – Illustrator more later

 

Paul Salsini – Author of "The Cielo," "Sparrow's Revenge," "Dino's Story" and "The Temptation of Father Lorenzo"
www.ATuscanTrilogy.com

First off – can we have a little background information on you – Where you live? (If you don’t mind answering)

My wife and I live in an apartment on the East Side.

Your surnames and where you descend from in Italy

          Salsini; Both sides of my family are from a small village in the Province of Lucca in Tuscany.

What first drew you to writing books?

          I’m a journalist and have always written nonfiction of course. But I was drawn into writing novels when my cousin told me about her experiences during World War II.

How long ago was that?

          Eight years ago.

How would you describe the category of your fiction?

          Historical fiction.

What does it feel like to create?

          Wonderful! I can let my imagination go wild.

What motivates you?

          The characters in my books have taken hold and I want to know more about what they’re doing.

Are you working on any new Projects (if more than one);

My fourth book came out this year and I’m already thinking and planning my fifth.

What advice would you a young writer?

          Read read read and write write write.

Do you think that being a writer is something that is in your blood? Or is it something that can be learned?

          I don’t know. It just happens.

What will you be showcasing at the Festa Italiana Fine Art Show?

          The three books that comprise my “A Tuscan Trilogy” – The Cielo: A Novel of Wartime Tuscany; Sparrow’s Revenge; A Novel of Postwar Tuscany and Dino’s Story: A Novel of 1960s Tuscany, plus the new one, The Temptation of Father Lorenzo: Ten Stories of 1970s Tuscany.

 

 

 

 

Yvonne Stevenson – Bad Dog Studio Painter

Where you live?

          My studio is in Shorewood, WI.

Your surnames and where you descend from in Italy

          Surname:  Marchetti            Area:  Tuscany

What first drew you to Art?

Both my mother and father always loved to create things and started me with projects very early.  I still have examples of projects from 4 years of age when my mother taught me to embroidery and started me on a sewing machine.  I have always been fascinated with color harmonies and those projects afforded my earliest opportunities to mix colors.

How would you describe your medium?

          I am primarily a painter…oils, acrylic, and mixed media, I also design jewelry.  Of course, the fascination with color and design spills over in life in landscaping and interior design.  Sensitivity to color and design are integral to all areas of life.

 

What does it feel like to create?  What motivates and inspires you?

Most art is work with the inspiration to start on a particular project.  A color, form, or theme may inspire a series of paintings.  Travel provides many sources of inspiration, but travel can be another country or culture or travel to nearby places.  Inspiration can come at anytime or place.

 

What advice would you a young Artisan in promoting their Art?

          If you want to do art as a hobby, simply have fun.  If you want to make a living in art, learn art as a business.  Too many artists are not comfortable pricing and selling their art.  Learn the art of selling and promoting.

 

Do you think that being an Artisan is something that is in your blood? Or is it something that can be learned?

I believe that people all have a desire to create something.  It may be cooking, presenting an image/a style of dressing, your home, your yard.  For those who want to create forms of art for others use and enjoyment, I think there must be a strong need to see your ideas come to fruition.  To continually create, with or without outside input, you must have a strong inner need to create.

 

What is the best advice you have ever been given in your field of Art?

          Art is a personal, inner drive but in order to sell your art, it is a business also.

 

How many hours do you work daily on your Art and what are your daily tasks for your work?

          I am sporadic in working habits.  An idea will incubate and then I will work for long periods of time to bring it to life.   I like to paint in series…pick a theme and work on it until I feel it is expressed in multiple ways. 

 

What will you be showing at the Festa Italiana Fine Art Show?

 I will be showing abstract paintings…primarily in vivid colors.

 

Artist’s Statement:  Forms reduced to their essentials, colors, and textures excite my senses. 

 

I enjoy a robust use of color and texture in the creation of abstract works in oil, acrylics, or mixed media.  I typically use colors which are vivid, lively, and playful to both enhance the beauty of an object and project mood and emotion.  In this philosophy and approach, I share a kinship with abstract expressionists and color field artists.

 

I draw inspiration for my paintings from many sources.  I have traveled extensively and memories of the places I have seen (Wisconsin fields at dawn, Asian temples, walls painted over with time-worn colors, graffiti, rough-textured surfaces, and more) have influenced my abstracts.  I typically work in series to explore the many possibilities that I see within each image.

 

Paula DeStefanis Christensen

First off – can we have a little background information on you – Where you live? (If you don’t mind answering)

Cedarburg

Your surnames and where you descend from in Italy

DeStefanis/Detoro

What first drew you to Art?

My parents; both were very intellectual and involved in the arts

How long ago was that?

Since birth – can’t remember a non-creative day

How would you describe your medium?

Mixed; I LOVE all things painting drawing

What does it feel like to create?

Like breathing

What motivates you?

Instinct

What inspires you?

Travel to ITALY most, than people and philosophy

Are you working on any new Projects (if more than one);

Tell us about your main project?

Just completed two Public Arts Commissions.  One for the Village of Grafton and the other Shorewood.  Now I am turning my attention to my fine art painting

Why did you choose this forum to express your art?

 

Because it’s natural to me.  Painting always has been.  My parent bought me professional acrylic tube paint when I was just 6 have never looked back

Where are you at with your main project now?

In the conceptual process

What advice would you a young Artisan in promoting their Art?

a.      Meet and surround your self with many artists.  And don’t be afraid of failure

Do you think that being an Artisan is something that is in your blood? YES!!!

 Or is it something that can be learned?

It can be, but the true artist feels it in her soul.

What is the best advice you have ever been given in your field of Art?

Mmmm, don’t know…I think I am still waiting.  Most of my best advice has come from my soul

How many hours do you work daily on your Art and what are your daily tasks for your work?

All day – but it’s divided up with promoting other artist as well.

What will you be showcasing at the Festa Italiana Fine Art Show?

Fine Art – and Hand Painted Wearalbes

 

 

 

 

Donna Pogliano – Girly Girl Baubbles and Beads

 

First off – can we have a little background information on you – Where you live? (If you don’t mind answering)

I live in the Bay View neighborhood, just south of downtown Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

Your surnames and where you descend from in Italy

Pogliano.  Piedmont Region.

What first drew you to Art?

I am an accidental artist.  I have a metal allergy and was tired of the one pair of gold earrings I wore every day for twenty years.  When I discovered that I could make anything I wanted, I realized that I could make high quality custom-made jewelry and offer it at reasonable prices.  I didn’t realize it would become a disease. 

How long ago was that?

I’ve been a jewelry artist for about six years now.

How would you describe your medium?

I describe Girly Girl jewelry as beautiful, durable, wearable art; Perfect for gift-giving or as a treat for oneself. 

What does it feel like to create?

I feel fully engaged when I create, and I design primarily by instinct, letting the materials and the process lead me in whatever direction feels right.  It’s important to know when to quit.  When the design starts to become too complex, it’s time to back off.  Simple is best and tends to have a timeless appeal.

What motivates you?

I am motivated by the encouragement and appreciation of my customers.  There is nothing more gratifying to me than to have a repeat customer come back and show me that they are wearing something they bought from me years ago, and they still love it. 

What inspires you?

I am inspired by the endless variety of gemstone, art glass, shell and other natural materials.  I feel connected to the earth and sea when working with natural materials.

What advice would you a young Artisan in promoting their Art?

Be patient.  It takes time to establish name recognition and develop a reputation.  Networking with other artists, joining or starting an art guild helps keep you connected with other artists and fosters the sharing of ideas for co-operative ventures.

Do you think that being an Artisan is something that is in your blood? Or is it something that can be learned?

I can teach another person the mechanics of my art in a few minutes, but I can’t teach them how to create.  Three dimensional art requires the same eye for color, proportion and scale as two-dimensional art.  Skills and “rules” of design can be taught to some extent, but artists often have an element of instinct that’s either there or it isn’t.  If it’s there, it often results in a passion to create. 

What is the best advice you have ever been given in your field of Art?

“If it’s made properly, you should be able to throw it against a wall and it should hang together.”

How many hours do you work daily on your Art and what are your daily tasks for your work?

It varies.  I try never to leave a piece unfinished because it interrupts the creative process to put it aside and come back to it.  Sometimes I make several pieces a day, sometimes a series of pieces in one sitting, sometimes just one piece, depending on the other demands on my time.  I sometimes take a break for several days or several weeks to refresh my perspective and give my hands a break.  Muscle fatigue and blisters from continually handling the tools then have a chance to resolve themselves.

What will you be showing at the Festa Italiana Fine Art Show?

I will concentrate on millefiori and art glass, which has proven popular with Festa audience in the past.  There will also be the ever-popular earrings, anklets and bracelets in the colors of the Italian flag.

 

 

 

Artisan Art Cola Author

First off – can we have a little background information on you – Where you live? (If you don’t mind answering)

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: ARTHUR COLA

arthurcola@yahoo.com

Web: www.arthurcolalegendarytales.com

Blog: www.arthurcolalegendarytales.wordpress.com

www.amazon.com/arthurcola

Arthur Cola was born in Chicago in the “little Italy” neighborhood of the near west side of the city. His family moved to Oak Park, IL where he attended Oak Park-River Forest High School. While attending Loyola University, Chicago, he met his future wife, Donna Shields. Together they have five now grown children and four grandchildren. He, his wife and family now live in Burlington, Wisconsin for 30 years.

 

He has been an educator for 35 years. During that time he was a Teacher of History and a School Principal. Upon receiving his Master’s Degree from the University of Southern Mississippi, he also served as a Lecturer for Barry University in Florida. His post graduate work concentrated on Educational administration and theology. He studied in Rome at the Loyola University Campus while conducting research for his current work, “The Stone Cutter Genius” and traveled extensively in Ireland and Britain researching cultural sites and folklore for his other novels.

 

Through CIE tours International, SCEPTRE Tours and Bon Voyage Travel (kari@bonvoyagecruisevacations.com) readers may form groups or join a current group to accompany the author to Ireland, Britain or Italy visiting all the sites where the action in his novels take place.

 

While performing his duties as a School Principal, he also began writing a “Movie Review” column with his daughter for a Wisconsin Newspaper. Also during those years he began adapting novels and plays for Jr. High School students to perform. One of those productions won the “Bicentennial Award” and was performed at McCormick Place in Chicago. Part of that award winning work was his original poetic reflection titled, “What is America?”

 

His literary works also include the children’s Christmas themed book, “Papa and the Gingerbread Man, An Adventure in America’s Oldest City©.” In this tale the famous cookie man is sought out by “Papa” through the streets of St. Augustine, Florida. He wishes to invite him to his grandchildren’s school Christmas party. As the chase takes place the children will be introduced to some of the most famous landmarks of early America such as Castillo San Marcos and St. Augustine Cathedral, unique restaurants such as the Columbia, and sea faring adventures on the schooner Freedom.

 

His first book for older folks is titled “Papa and the Leprechaun King, The Secret Legend of the Shamrock. ©” In this tale a group of Wisconsin tourists in Ireland find out that the Realm of the Wee Folk are real and end up embarking upon a quest to solve a 1500 year old mystery while saving the Leprechaun King. In the process the reader is introduced to the wonders and folklore of Ireland and the secret of the Shamrock which is sure to not only delight but also uplift the reader. It is also a wonderful introduction to traveling in present day Ireland.

 

The second book is an historical fantasy. “The Shamrock Crown (Legend of Excalibur).”© ISBN: 978-1-58982-619-9 (www.amazon.com/arthurcola). This tale takes a large mid-western family on a journey from Wisconsin to Ireland and Britain as they attempt to save two of the most famous relics of ancient Camelot. The reader will encounter the Legend of King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table in a way slightly different from that of Mark Twain in his tale of “A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court.” Arthur Cola has the family encounter the legendary characters of Camelot in the 21st Century. Together they join forces to preserve the symbol of the most important “Message” of our time and all time.

 

A new book trailer introduces the reader to his third novel (www.americanbookpublishingblog.com/promote-your-book-at-etnic-festivals or www.authorcentral.amazon.com/arthurcola).  It is an epic legendary tale titled, “The Stone Cutter Genius”©. This historical fiction epic with elements of the supernatural is about a teacher in Chicago, who seeks only to present the Life and Times of the Renaissance artist Michelangelo. He takes his two teen sons and his class to Italy to follow in the artist’s footsteps. Under the guise of the tour they embark on a quest to recover a missing artifact of the most famous family of Renaissance Italy while uncovering the mystery of the Legend of the Magi Ring (said to possess supernatural powers). Along the way the heroes of the tale discover how the early life of the master artist, Michelangelo, was entwined with the Medici family of Florence, Italy in the 15th-16th Centuries and now themselves…the Colonna family of the 21st Century. It is a novel blending Renaissance history, mystery, political intrigue, adventure and a bit of romance too in the present day, while finding yourself in a nostalgic romp in Chicago, a magical encounter in Wales, a mysterious revelation in London, a Hollywood type premiere in Dublin and thrilling experiences in Florence, Rome and the Isle of Capri as you’ve never seen them before. 

 

Watch his CAN-TV Chicago interview by going to: http://blip.tv/avila-media-nfp/avila-irish-craic-authors-sandra-mccone-and-arthur-cola-5738822.

 

To view the Book Trailer for his novel: The Stone Cutter Genius, go to the following link online: http://www.americanbookpublishingblog.com/promote-your-book-at-ethnic-festivals)

 

Your surnames and where you descend from in Italy

My paternal grandfather and his three brothers (Colaianni, Cola) came from San Pietro Avellano in Abruzzo, Italy as did my paternal grandmother (Frazzini, DiCenze) from the same town in the early 1900’s. My maternal grandmother  (Nannini) came to Chicago with her parents at the turn of the 19th century. They came from a small town called Ponte Burgianese in Tuscany. My maternal great grandfather (Doretti) came to Chicago at the same time form the same town in Tuscany. That makes me 100% Italian American.

What first drew you to Art?

The creative arts (i.e. writing, film and theater) became part of my life while still attending Oak Park High School in Illinois. When I became a teacher and then a School Principal I would channel that interest in working with the music teacher to create a musical production of famous plays and musicals (i.e. Wizard of OZ, Peter Pan, Oliver, Babes in Toyland, Cinderella, etc.)

I would adapt the scripts to make them appropriate for students in Jr. High School.

My daughter and I wrote a Movie review column for the Burlington Newspaper for several years.

When I began to travel to Ireland, Britain and Italy I became interested in their history, folklore and faith traditions. When I retired I began to write stories based on those experiences and the history and folklore of their cultures. My second youngest son, John Colaianni, inherited the artistic abilities of his great grandfather and became a design artist and also designed the graphics, images and covers of my books.

How long ago was that?

I have been writing for 7 years now and taking tours to Ireland, Britain and Italy which follow the plots of my book for that long as well.

We have a Tour of Italy coming up in October of 2012 through Bon Voyage Cruises and vacations (kari@bonvoyagecruisevacations.com)

How would you describe your medium?

My medium is paper and pen. I write first then transfer it into the computer. I am currently working on the Screenplay version of my book: The Stone Cutter Genius. It is an adventure mystery story which begins in Chicago and goes to Italy. A teacher and his two teen sons seek an ancient relic called the Ring of the Magi. It is said to possess supernatural powers. They must find it before others do who would use it to control the very souls of young people.

What does it feel like to create?

I get excited as the story forms. I often can’t write fast enough to get everything down as I develop the plot of the story. For instance, the 2nd edition of my book: Papa and the Leprechaun King has just been published on Kindle and will be out in book form soon thanks to the Arts Council of the United Kingdom (UK).

What motivates you?

 

I began writing books to provide a legacy for my grandchildren and to create stories which also have a message of Faith, Hope and Love. It is my desire to open the world of fantasy, history and cultural traditions to the young and young at heart.

 

What inspires you?

I am inspired by the heroes and stories of my youth and by what I experienced while traveling or studying in Ireland, Britain and Italy. For me that meant the Renaissance artist, Michelangelo. He was a small kid and man just like me, but he was creative and powerful. He created some of the greatest works of art known to man. His life and accomplishments served as the foundation of my story “The Stone Cutter Genius” in which I bring his experiences to life and weave them into the lives of a 21st century family in Wisconsin.

When I went to the Tower of London in England and saw the remains of a Roman wall going back to the days of Caesar, I just had to include that in my story. So it becomes a focal point in my book: The Shamrock Crown (Legend of Excalibur).

So too did other sites like a 5th century ruin in Wales which is believed to be the birth place of King Arthur, another of my heroes. Then there’s the Monastic city of Clonmacnoise where St. Patrick preached in Ireland, the soaring cliffs of Inishmore off the west coast of Ireland and St. Nicholas Collegiate Church in Galway where Columbus went to pray before embarking on his trip of discovery. These and so much more served to inspire me to include them in my legendary tales.

Are you working on any new Projects (if more than one); 

Yes

Tell us about your main project?

I am working on the screenplay adaptation of my book: The Stone Cutter Genius. In the movie version we hope to tell an adventure and mystery tale of how the Ring of the Magi was believed to possess supernatural powers to control the souls of people. This was widely believed by Michelangelo and the people of the Renaissance era. How this comes to impact the life of a Wisconsin family in the 21st century begins the adventure to find the legendary relic aid to have been received by the Holy Family from the Three Kings in Bethlehem.

Why did you choose this forum to express your art?

 

 I think that my stories would bring exciting tales to life on the screen. A movie is created through the blending of many mediums of art: (Set design, costumes, screenplay writing, camera work, art direction, acting, and so forth). Film embodies all areas of the Fine Arts and is why I love working to bring my stories to the screen.

 

What advice would you a young Artisan in promoting their Art?

My advice is to keep plugging away. It only takes one person with the right connections to like your work and present it in a forum where it can get noticed.

Do you think that being an Artisan is something that is in your blood? Or is it something that can be learned?

It’s both. Michelangelo, for instance, was supposed to be a banker if his father had his way. Luckily for the world, Michelangelo had an inherited gift and natural ability which yearned to be developed. So strong was this desire that it pushed the young would be artist to defy convention, his father and the odds to sculpt and later paint. And yet he too had to hone his skills and develop those natural abilities.

Thus one is born with a gift and it needs to be developed and refined.

What is the best advice you have ever been given in your field of Art?

 I was told never to stop writing. Keep on sharing my stories and striving to get them recognized.

How many hours do you work daily on your Art and what are your daily tasks for your work?

Depending if I’m on a roll or not, I spend the greater part of every day preparing my books for distribution, writing stories, developing contacts, promoting my books. That translates into about a 6 to 8 hour day if I’m not actually writing the screenplay or book. If I’m working on the screenplay or the new book, that time is 8 to 12 hours.

What will you be showing at the Festa Italiana Fine Art Show?

I will be presenting all three of my novels: The Stone Cutter Genius, The Shamrock Crown and Papa and the Leprechaun King. Also presenting my Christmas themed children’s book: Papa and the Gingerbread Man.

 

 

 

 

Mary Anne Schall

First off – can we have a little background information on you – Where you live? (If you don’t mind answering)

My studio is in Shorewood, WI.

Your surnames and where you descend from in Italy

Maternal Grandfather:   Alexandro Bettio

Maternal Grandmother:    Pina Bettio

(ne Andreotta)

Region:                 Borca di Cadore, Pro. Belluno, Veneto

What first drew you to Art and how long ago was that? 

I’ve always been interested in art … even as a little child, I was always creating things.

How would you describe your medium?

I am a jewelry artist who manipulates wire into wearable pieces of art.
I feel that wire is a natural medium for conveying how lines express mood, form, and texture.  I use wire to explore the connections between mind, body, spirit, the organic and the industrial.  Using a variety of techniques adapted from basketry, knitting, and metal work, I combine silver, gold, and copper wire with pearls, precious gem stones, found objects, antique and ethnic pieces, fused glass, and china shards to create wearable works of art.

What does it feel like to create?

It’s exciting to create… when I get started on a project it’s hard to stop and put it aside.  The creative process is not alchemy.  It is not some strange magic that only a certain elite group is given.   Everyone should welcome creativity into their lives, and recognize it when it is there.  It is so sad when I hear people saying, “Oh, I wish I was creative,” because so often they really don’t realize they already are.

What motivates you?

I am motivated and most proud when people tell me that my work makes them happy.  Sometime it inspires them to start projects of their own.  I like that feeling a lot.

What inspires you?

The earth affects us everyday in all kinds of ways.  We can’t help but be receptive to the amazing planet we live in.  From the viewpoint of a jewelry designer who often works with stone, wood, and shells, it is doubly fascinating to me to explore what is going on in nature.  I am constantly searching for ways to use natural materials in my jewelry design.

Are you working on any new Projects (if more than one);

Tell us about your main project?

I live only a view blocks from Lake Michigan and thus have been collecting lake glass and stones that have been scrubbed smooth by the waves.  I am exploring new ways of highlighting these simple, yet beautiful found-objects in sleek, contemporary designs.

Why did you choose this forum to express your art?

 

I’ve been focusing on purifying my designs and creating more organic pieces.

Where are you at with your main project now?

It’s coming along well and I should have a number of pieces to share at FESTA.

What advice would you a young Artisan in promoting their Art?

I would tell young artists to not be afraid to get your art out there and share it.  I had an art teacher who once said, “Perfection is boring.”  I still love her for that because remembering what she said gave me permission to take risk that wouldn’t have been possible if perfection were all-important to me.

Do you think that being a Artisan is something that is in your blood; Or is it something that can be learned;  What is the best advice you have ever been given in your field of Art? 

We all have access to the divine spark that is within us.  It will speak to us if we listen, and guide us in matters that require creative thinking.  I wish more people believed that they could access this.  I believe that we all can!

How many hours do you work daily on your Art and what are your daily tasks for your work? 

4 hours – tasks vary depending on the focus and piece

What will you be showing at the Festa Italiana Fine Art Show? 

I will be showing some exciting new necklaces, earrings and bracelets.

 

 

 

Debra Stubbe Burkart-Orlandini

What first drew you to Art and how long ago was that?

Since 2nd grade I just knew I was an Artist. My interest in the arts (especially music and the visual arts) became a real focal point of my life. I would have my Dad drive me to the library where they would have live Classical Concerts. After the concert I would spend the remaining part of the day looking at art books.

 

How would you describe your Medium?

My medium is non-traditional. I use acrylic paint on raw canvas and then draw the details with magic marker.

 

Why did you choose this forum to express your art?

I love to paint and I love to draw and this technique allows for both loves to unit and complement each other.

 

What does it feel like to create?

Creating is a high and makes me want to create even more.

 

What motivates you?

The need and desire to create.

 

What inspires you?

Many things inspire me but I enjoy textures especially the look of paint on a surface.

 

What advice would you give a young artisan in promoting their art?

Believe in what you are doing and continue to ignite your creativity by challenging and stretching yourself.

 

Do you think that being an artisan is something that is in your blood or is it something that can be learned?

You really have to have a desire, a knowing about being a real Artist.

Yes you can learn technique and dress the part but face it being an

Artist is not for the faint of heart. It’s a tough yet rewarding road. It’s like any other profession…there’s a doctor and THERE’S A DOCTOR.

 

What is the best advice you have ever been given in your field of art?

Be true to yourself.

 

How many hours do you work daily on your art and what are your daily tasks for your work?

I am constantly thinking and producing art. Sometime the most obscure thing will trigger and idea for a piece of art. I carry a sketch book everywhere I go. I’ve been known to wake up in the middle of the night and start sketching out ideas or at least take notes.

 

What will you be showing at the Festa Italiana’s Fine Art Show?

I’ve been working on some new and exciting paintings and drawings of both Milwaukee and Italian landmarks. Having both as originals, prints and greeting cards derive from my original art.

 

 

Valerie Erato Bead & Toggle jewelry

What first drew you to Art?

-I have always had an artistic mind.  Growing up, I was always making a mess on my kitchen table with a different craft each day.  Starting with paint by numbers then eventually moving to jewelry and other accessories.

How long ago was that?

At least 20 years of being creative, but more like 8 years for jewelry.

How would you describe your medium?
-What I am known for is wire wrapping and specifically using that to make rings.  They are edgy, funky, and unique.  I consider them a piece of finger art.  I also make pendants and earrings.

 

What does it feel like to create?

-After a long day at work, it is relaxing to come home and just create.  It’s something that I am in control of, and there is no one to tell me that I am doing it wrong, since it is my piece.  It’s a great de-stressor and always puts me in a better mood.

What motivates you?
-My happy customers are what keep me doing this as seriously as I am.  It’s an indescribable feeling when someone compliments your work and gets a smile on their face while wearing it.  Jessie J, the up and coming pop artist from England, bought one of my rings in a shop I sold at in New York.  Seeing the picture of her happily wearing my ring is a priceless feeling.

 

What inspires you?
New York fashion.  I am always trying to keep an eye on what is hot there, but it doesn’t always catch on here.  I feel like I am doing my part to make Wisconsin a little more stylish and funky 🙂

Are you working on any new Art Projects (if more than one);

1)    Tell us about your main project?

-I feel like I am always working on a new project!  My newest is making button stud earrings. 

 

2)    Why did you choose this forum to express your art?
-I love simple stud earrings, so I figured I would try my hand at it.

 

3)    Where are you at with your main project now?

-I have made a handful of them and have already started selling them on my Etsy site.  They have gotten a really good response so far!

 

 

What advice would you a young Artisan in promoting their Art?

-Don’t let a few “No”s discourage you.  I have been told “No” so many times for selling my rings in shops, boutiques, at events, etc.  But for as many “No”s that I have heard, because I didn’t give up, I have also seen a lot of “Yes’s.  You need to put yourself out there in order to be seen.

Do you think that being an Artisan is something that is in your blood?
Or is it something that can be learned?

I think that it is something that is in your blood.  You either have it or you don’t.  Some can be taught certain techniques of art, but being artistic is something deep inside of you.  We seem to think differently and have a unique view of the world, as one giant canvas.

What is the best advice you have ever been given in your field of Art?

Don’t give up.  It’s not just for art, but for life in general.  People who give up never get anywhere.  It’s important to continue to do what you love, even if you feel no one else appreciates it.  Someone out there will.

How many hours do you work daily on your Art and what are your daily
tasks for your work?

-I am not able to make jewelry everyday, but whenever I have spare time, I pick it up.  It’s something that I tend to do on weekends or on week nights that I need some mental relaxation.  I really have no specific plan for the tasks I do; I just do whatever speaks to me that specific day!

What will you be showing at the Festa Italiana Fine Art Show?

-I will be selling my wire wrapped rings, my pendants, and new button earrings!

 

Marie White – Hand painted ornaments and Pottery

First off – can we have a little background information on you – Where you live? (If you don’t mind answering)

          An import to the state of Iowa some 40 years ago, originally from the Chicago Area,

Your surnames and where you descend from in Italy

          My family emigrated to the United States from the Region of Basilicata, Italy in the 1870’s. Laurenzana, Bella and Vaglio are the major towns where my relatives lived.  I have intensely researched the Province of Potenza where these towns are located and have found over 300 surnames that I am directly related to.

Major surnames are Gallo, Motta, Marotta, Straziuso, Garramone

          Abbate, Ambrusi, Ambruso, Asselta, Benedetto, Bonamassa, Blasi, Bonelli, Bandi, Cafarella, Carbone, Carolina, Casaletta, Casella, Cirigliano, Colucci, Comardello, Crisci, Cuzzolino, D’Alesandro, D’Amico, de Rose, d’Onofrio, di Carolis, di Persia, di Milta, di Lorenzo, d’Esopo, Emma, Falotico, Fanelli, Folino, Galasso, Galgano, Gallo, Garramone, Graziadei, Grippo, Iula, Laraia, Lauria, Lavigna, Liuzzi, Locassao, Lupo, Manzi, Marcheeta, Marino, Marone, Marotta, Martoccia, Mastro, Mazziota, Mazzo, Motta, Monteleone, Migliano, Nigro, Pantone, Parente, Pavese, Pellettiere, Perretta, Peloso, Pisano, Rizzo, Robortaccio, Romanella, Romano, Russo, Sansone, Sarli, Soldo Straziuso, Tersi, Ungaro, Urga, Valentino, Viscaglia, Volino, Zito.

What first drew you to Art?

I was a “late bloomer child” of my parents and in those days, Mom never had a baby sitter, so I was taken to all the classes my mother took that encourages art and creativity.  We were always creating at home, from simple “plaster painting projects” (in those days!) to sewing, knitting, crocheting.  It is in my blood, and as I do my genealogical research I find that my family had many painters and potters in Italy.  It’s in the genes.

How long ago was that?

Since I was a small child. In the first grade in the 50’s my teacher encouraged my drawing and entered me into an art competition that the Art Institute of Chicago held.  I won first place, and was given the opportunity to attend the Art Institute, but in those days, my mother didn’t drive, and would not send a child alone to downtown Chicago, so I did not attend.  Who knows where I would be today if I could have attended.

How would you describe your medium?

          Mixed Media in painting and clay.

What does it feel like to create?

          Calming, exciting, and very fulfilling.

What motivates you?

         

          Everyday is a challenge and everyday in my business is exciting and challenging.  I strive to improve my techniques and make my customer happy with my products. 

What inspires you?

          Every week, I try to help my “Art Teacher” Daughter, (Angela) and her students inspire me to push me to my limit.  Youth has great ideas and innovative ways of techniques.

Are you working on any new Projects (if more than one);

Tell us about your main project?

          I oil paint on blown glass ornaments from photos that clients send me of their houses, tractors, cars, pets, etc.  I also do specialized works that depict people’s lives for memory bulbs.  As an example, I confer with the client who want to have a memory of their friend, parent, etc. who just passed away and depict their lives on an ornament. 

          I am also attempting to use clay from our property (we own 160 acres of clay!) and utilize it.

Why did you choose this forum to express your art?

          Challenging!

Where are you at with your main project now?

What advice would you a young Artisan in promoting their Art?

          Don’t be afraid of experimentation and promoting oneself.

Do you think that being an Artisan is something that is in your blood? Or is it something that can be learned?

          Yes, I can prove thru my research it is genetic.

What is the best advice you have ever been given in your field of Art?

          Never give up; keep trying, do it, do it, do it.  Failure is NOT an option, learn from your mistakes.  Success is in your heart and soul.  When you hit a brick wall, learn to step over it.

How many hours do you work daily on your Art and what are your daily tasks for your work?

          I have owned my own art business for over 35 years and have literally shipped all over the world, and have worked for many famous people through out the years, even the Queen of England! And I have clients in all 50 states.  I specialize in quality hand painted ornaments that you cannot find in any store.  My days are long and 7 days a week to do the volume that I do.  I generally start at 5 AM and most days go to 9 PM.  Stressful, yes, and when I’m under the gun for a deadline, it is grueling.  But I can take a breather here and there and work on finding my “family” in the Italian towns.

          I despise the bookwork and accounting aspects, so I turn it over to the professionals in that area.  Owing your own business also means, taking out the garbage, shoveling the snow, doing the dusting, etc.  URGH!  But with a store front it has to be done. 

         

What will you be showcasing at the Festa Italiana Fine Art Show?

          My ornaments and some pottery.

 

Angela White, Rapids Iowa

First off – can we have a little background information on you – Where you live? (If you don’t mind answering)

 

I grew up in Monticello, Iowa, But I currently live in Cedar

Rapids, Iowa. Living in a small town as a kid I knew I didn’t really want to stay in a small community. My mom’s family lives in the Chicago land area and visiting there was always my favorite, however much I loved visiting wasn’t real sure I could live there forever. Cedar Rapids is where I went to college it’s not real far from my parent and once I graduated from school I never left. It’s a changing community.

 

We had some bad flooding in 2008 and we are doing some wonderful cultural additions to the city as we rebuild. So when people say you’re from Iowa I just say it’s not that bad People here smile, help you out still, and overall we still care.

 

Your surnames and where you descend from in Italy

 

My mom has done extensive research on this so please see hers refer to Maria White

 

What first drew you to Art?

 

Art is my family blood. I was practically born in an art studio. I have been told all my life that the day I was born my mom went to work at her studio all day not knowing she was in labor. So you could say I was born into it. Since then I have been raised around art. With that said my mom never pushed me to do art. It was more if I like drawing pencils would show up; if I mentioned colored pencils a new set would appear.

 

I love to create things. Nothing pleases me

More than to sit quietly and work on an idea. As a child it was next to grandma and my mom so we could say this is a deep rooted family tradition.

 

How long ago was that?

 

From my beginning

 

How would you describe your medium?

 

I am a clay person first. It’s what I love to work with but broader I like to work 3-D. I see the world in three dimensions I want to manipulate that or create new objects. I enjoy paint, but have done only for

Enjoyment nothing serious.

 

What does it feel like to create? I love to stick my hands in the clay get dirty work up a sweat. To be able to be right with the world as I work whatever is around me doesn’t matter anymore it’s just me and what I am doing.

 

What motivates you?

 

The idea that I can take earth and create something that never existed before! Something from nothing that’s pretty powerful!

 

What motivates you? And or what inspires you?

 

My mom she works so hard because something inside her tells her to create. Anyone with a story who’s not afraid to share it. Above all art is communication a voice for those who need to speak artist who create art they inspire me.

 

Are you working on any new Projects (if more than one);

 

Horse hair pottery

 

Tell us about your main project?

 

Various forms in clay mostly wheel work I want to challenge my skill by increasing size. I’ve made little “guys” in the past I want the mega monsters just to prove to my self I can.

 

Why did you choose this forum to express your art?

 

It’s a unique firing that no one around here is doing

 

Where are you at with your main project now?

 

The beginning! I teach during the school year and have a hard time balancing school year and art life!!

 

What advice would you a young Artisan in promoting their Art?

 

Work all the time!

 

Do not give up if this truly your love.

 

Do you think that being an Artisan is something that is in your blood? Or is it something that can be learned?

 

Anything can be learned, but it helps if you love

Something so much if it’s in your blood. Especially these days when times are tough and society seems to place less importance on art.

 

What is the best advice you have ever been given in your field of Art?

 

No one ever gives you advice to go into art, but I would say use the technology out there. Internet is where the people are at.

 

How many hours do you work daily on your Art and what are your daily tasks for your work?

 

Ugh! I am an art teacher so I work with art everyday all day, but

I rarely get to do anything during the school year!!!! Summer is my season then it varies 5-8 hrs several times a week. It’s not my full time job.

 

What will you be showcasing at the Festa Italiana Fine Art Show?

 

 Horse Hair Pottery

 

 

Valorie Schleicher, Artisan, Sculptor Photographer

www.vlsculptures.com

http://www.ValorieSchleicehr.wordpress.com

http://www.BuyLocalArtWisconsin.com

 

First off – can we have a little background information on you – Where you live (if you don’t mind answering);

I reside in Wauwatosa and my roots are in the third ward Milwaukee, and  where my great grandfather took up residence in 1901-1903 213 Jefferson Street, after arriving in America with his three brothers while they stayed in NY Stephano came here, my family has lived in the surrounding area since the early 1900’s.

I Am an Artist, and Arts Advocate I hold many Art Chairs around my community to show Art in unexpected places. Where the everyday person can step into a space filled with Art and experience that shift out of time and space, into spaciousness, timelessness to experience spiritual healing, other people, and just be inspired.

Just completed my third and fourth Public Arts Commissions.  Last year I worked with students from Madison Elementary School in West Allis WI,  and the last two  for the Village of Grafton. They are Metal Guitar Banners, that show give a sense of History. They will reside in their historic downtown district, hung from their light poles acting as signage and giving you a sense of Grafton’s History. The Guitars will be installed shortly.

 

I was honored with my 12 award for my Strong Woman Series. The Strong Woman Series is a collection of women’s’ faces within sculptural ground that symbolizes the various moments in ones lives, moments defined through and about women.

 

I am Humbled and honored to be a volunteer at Aurora Zilber VNA Family Hospice in Wauwatosa. I love being able to assist in the transition that comes with end of life, not only for the dieing but their families and  friends.

Your surnames and where you descend from in Italy.

Sanfilippo, Balistreri, Realmuto, Scardina, Machi, Alioto so many can’t name them all. I can trace my linage to the 1600’s in Sicily.

Porticello, Santa Flavia, Santa Elia and Bagarhria Sicily, however my great grandmother Isadora Realmuto, is from Baucina Sicily.

What first drew you to Art and how long ago was that?

For me it was a series of connections first, As kindergartner I drew a clown in finger paints. The principle Ms. Maxwell hung it in her office at Douglas Roads School in Milwaukee. I tried many years later to find that to no avail, I still would like to find it.

As time went on in the 5th grade I drew the house next store to scale with all the landscape. When I brought it to school my teacher claimed I did not do it. I’m guessing it was pretty good.

My Mom and My Sister Cindy, seeing me upset hatched a plan to send it to John Muir middle school. Cindy took it to her school she was in middle school and had her teacher look at it. He said he would of given it A or B don’t remember anymore.

My younger self was always writing and drawing. I knew I would end up in clay at the age of 12.  

However, I also do photography. It allows me to see the world in another view point. I picked that up at Milwaukee Institute of Art and Design when I went to college later in life…

How would you describe your medium?

My medium is two fold using both clay, and photography it is grounding and very malleable. I can create from my imagination and form it, bring life to it. My Photography is my connection to architecture, cultures and the connections between all people and what connected us to each other.

What does it feel like to create?

Like I have my best friend next to me and we are living in pure joy, if one has ever experienced true joy and happiness all rolled into one that is me when I create.

What motivates you?

 

Building & Connections, I am good at it, seeing the dots and being able to connect them to people, places, time and space. It is so inspiring when they all come together.

What inspires you?

I am inspired by gifts that we all have, unique unto ourselves. I am inspired by love, children, strong women, people, places, History, cultures and communities.

Are you working on any new Projects (if more than one);

Tell us about your main project?

I have many projects on the burner, some have been simmering for a while Like the Our America pc. It is a 10 year work in progress collecting the changes going on in the world. That will be done by September this year and will be in the Our America show at the Arts Mill in Grafton WI., from September through November 2012.

I am a new artist at the Arts Mill in Grafton WI. A sister site to the North Shore Academy of the Arts. A beautiful old building built in 1884 that wants to come to life again, we house about 20 artists some of us create there others sell their work there on the second floor Boutique.

I am working on collecting faces of women from around the world, for my DNA pc. Back in 2005 A DNA expert found that the world was descended from 7 women, the book was called the seven daughters of Eve. I am creating a work of Art that shows these women and their daughters.

Why did you choose this forum to express your art?

 

Clay is so malleable that I can create anything with it, its like thinking a art piece in your head, but it moves from your head to your hands like precision and clock work.  It is so natural and part of the earth we walk on each day.

Where are you at with your main project now?

I am getting ready to put the Boards up and begin the layout with the 10 years of accumulated history.

What advice would you give a young Artisan in promoting their Art?

Dream, Love, and give life to your passion, what ever that may be. Learn all there is to know about it and work through each thought you have with your art. Play, have fun, laugh, trust your instincts.

Do you think that being an Artisan is something that is in your blood? Or is it something that can be learned?

We are all Artisans at something; it’s our unique gift, to our jobs, our mates, our friends and family. Give passion to your gifts so that they go out into the world to and speak to people, help people, heal people, move people, change the world.

What is the best advice you have ever been given in your field of Art?

Trust your instincts!

How many hours do you work daily on your Art and what are your daily tasks for your work?

I never shut down I am always working on something, weather its promoting young artisans or older ones, or some project that allows people to get in touch with who they really are their “Gifts”.

What will you be showcasing at the Festa Italiana Fine Art Show?

I will be showing my strong Woman series which has now taken 12 awards since creating them and my Photography.

I also organize the Fine Art Tent so I will be helping the artisans be at home, have fun, and create a great escape for our attendees to connect with Art and themselves; Sort of like stepping out of time and space, into timelessness.

We welcome all to join us in the Fine Art and Italian Cinema Tent.

Susan Kamholz

http://www.thegeneralartist.com/

 

First off – can we have a little background information on you – Where you live?

Cedarburg

Your surnames and where you descend from in Italy:

Surname is Rossi on my mother’s side – my great great grandmother migrated from Siena and married into the Keane’s from Ireland

What first drew you to Art?

I have had a passion for the visual arts since I was very young.  The way different artists interpret the world around them in such different ways fascinates me.  For example, how two people can view the same scene and produce two unique works, amazing!

How long ago was that?

20 years

How would you describe your medium?

I used several different mediums all together. I never like to limit my work to just one.

What does it feel like to create?

Like breathing, I have to do it.

What motivates you? What inspires you?

I am inspired by traveling. Every new landscape, every new person I meet brings new ideas to the table.

Are you working on any new Projects (if more than one);

 I am currently working on creating a strong cohesive series done in mixed media.

What advice would you a young Artisan in promoting their Art?

Even when you don’t know what to draw put your pencil on that paper.

Do you think that being a Artisan is something that is in your blood?

Artisan is something one is, it is one’s nature. However I do think this nature reveals itself at different stages of life. For some it is early in life and for others it takes a while.

What is the best advice you have ever been given in your field of Art?

Keep up with paper work and NETWORK LIKE CRAZY.

How many hours do you work daily on your Art and what are your daily tasks for your work?

At least 3 hours a day, and accompanied with a glass of wine.

What will you be showcasing  at the Festa Italiana Fine Art Show?

A variety of my mixed media paintings.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
One Response to “Festa Italiana Presents Artisans for 2012 Festa Italiana July 19-22nd 2012”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Festa Italiana Presents Artisans for 2012 Festa Italiana July 19-22nd 2012 (valorieschleicher.wordpress.com) Rate this:Share this:EmailPrint Pin ItShare on TumblrDiggLike this:Like2 bloggers like this. […]



Leave a Reply

