Gay Zurich Artisan Interview Forks & Corks Sept. 9th 2011

Gay Zurich Art & Soul Inc


First off – can we have a little background information on you – Where

you live? (if you don’t mind answering)

Waukesha WI

What first drew you to Art?

I have been creating art since I was 4. I used to make mud pottery and

paint it with leaves and flowers I would mix up to make a paste. I would make plates and foods. I have taught art to adults, juried art shows and made a living selling my art as well as doing business consulting for artists teaching them how to market what they make.

How long ago was that?

My whole life.

How would you describe your medium?

Actually, I make watercolor pen and ink personalized cartoons, I have

sold millions of them, and that brought me into contact with many fine

artisans. I taught them at the local college and met them on the art fair trails, and now I am selling and helping to design hand-made candles with my friend Laura.

What does it feel like to create?

It feels fulfilling.

What motivates you?

Everything in life motivates  me . In particular nature, but my best

passion is helping others to succeed in the art world. I had over 10,000 Independent Art Consultants personalizing and selling my watercolor cartoons and now I am helping candle artists to launch their businesses selling their candles in creative markets.

What inspires you?

Nature inspires me, but what most inspires me is helping others to be

successful selling their art, that is why I am concentrating on

consulting

for artists. I have been very successful and want to see that happen for

them too.

Are you working on any new Art Projects (if more than one);

Yes, I am currently launching a new sales endeavor with my artist

candle maker friend Laura, I design the candles and she pours them, and

I am creating a national program to sell her candles privately.

Why did you choose this forum to express your art?

My art is not only being a successful watercolor cartoonist, but my

art is a teaching art, teaching others how to be successful selling their art in creative and unusual ways.

Where are you at with your main project now?

I am currently planning to launch a new candle company this fall, and

expand it early January 2012. I am designing more candles for Laura to pour. I am designing all of the sales programs. I will be recruiting many other artists to sell her candles. I am also expanding my consulting business with primary focus on helping artists market what they make and holding day long seminars in my home. Business and Brunch, Learn how to MARKET WHAT YOU MAKE Guerilla

marketing techniques for the artist…or small business person. I am

also looking for recruits who love art and want to net $21,000 working 3 nights a week , 7 months a year.

What advice would you a young Artisan in promoting their Art?

As I said earlier, this has been my life, teaching thousands of people

how to sell their art and be successful at it, and that , in and of

itself, is an art. Too many of my past students thing the good fairy will fall out of the sky and sell their creations, will not happen, Too many think that if they have a website their art will sell, it is not going to work unless you get out there and beat the bushes, sell at every single event you can from Firemen’s pancake breakfasts to flea markets and knock on doors, sell everywhere you can and put your contact information on each and every item you sell, that way you can be a success.

Do you think that being an Artisan is something that is in your blood?

Yes, always has been always will be but I am also an excellent business

person and if you want your art to sell you must move outside of your

comfort zone and sell your art yourself,, you have to combine street

smarts with creative non stop selling. Be curious and never give up.

Or is it something that can be learned?

I think it is in the blood , personally, but that learning part is the

marketing part, and that is almost something that has to be in the

blood as well, your art will never sell if you do not market it properly and aggressively.

What is the best advice you have ever been given in your field of Art?

Nothing, No one told me anything I did not learn by trial and error. The worst thing someone can tell you is to not do the style of art that you love, and college art teachers try to squish you into a box. Avoid that at all costs.

How many hours do you work daily on your Art

I work 7 days a week at my art tasks, sometimes 16 hours a day.

What are your daily tasks for your work?

They range from creative design, to painting,  decorating the candles,

ordering, accounting, advertising, calling customers, booking shows, I

wear all of the hats of a business person and mostly design at night.

What will you be showing at the Forks & Corks Exhibit?

I will be showing and selling the candles that I design and having a

sign up sheet for people who would like to have a private candle showing in their homes.

 

Read more about the Forks & Corks Artisans here http://wp.me/pO9du-wF

Comments
2 Responses to “Gay Zurich Artisan Interview Forks & Corks Sept. 9th 2011”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Gay Zurich Artisan Interview Forks & Corks Sept. 9th 2011 (valorieschleicher.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Gay Zurich Artisan Interview Forks & Corks Sept. 9th 2011 (valorieschleicher.wordpress.com) […]



Leave a Reply

