Artisan Interviews with Shelley Heath Vitality Fine Art Show “Creating Life Pathways” Event at Kradwell in Tosa

A Shelly Heath Creation

First off – can we have a little background information on you – Where you live? (if you don’t mind answering)

Shorewood

What first drew you to Art?

My mom was a fine art major in college and was always doodling or painting something. Also, my art teacher in high school Jackie Zweiger, who painted a lot of desert yucca plants and windmills.

How long ago was that?

I started in my teens, always trying to copy the pictures on sewing pattern packages, the clothes, the shoes, etc.

How would you describe your medium?

I primarily work in 3 mediums, watercolors, acrylics, and oils.

What does it feel like to create?

It is relaxing and improves my mood, at least when a painting is going well. I may be like a lot of other artists and tend to be self-critical at times. Then I just step away and do something else. I have to be in the right mood to paint.

 What motivates you?

I am motivated by the fact that other people seem to like my art, and simply that I am lucky to have the time, the freedom, and the resources to do it.

  What inspires you?

I am usually motivated by seeing something in nature I want to try to put on a canvas. There are so many interesting patterns, colors, and shapes in nature, for example, the colors and shapes on a butterfly wing, a clown fish, a zebra, a purple coneflower (my current obsession). I was also very inspired last time I was in Santa Fe New Mexico looking at the art on Canyon Road!

  Are you working on any new Art Projects (if more than one);

I have a commissioned home rendering from someone who looked at my website. It’s a small project, a watercolor and ink rendering of someone’s home that will be given as a gift.

Tell us about your main project?

My largest project for this show is a triptych of purple coneflowers and butterflies with an impressionistic look to it. I really admire the Impressionists and have tried to capture the spontaneity of that style.

Why did you choose this forum to express your art?

It sounded like a beautiful setting.

 Where are you at with your main project now?

I am in the finishing stages, just trying to get some finer details.

What advice would you a young Artisan in promoting their Art?

I would say it always keep your hands in it, keep your materials handy, and always network with other artists.

Do you think that being an Artisan is something that is in your blood?

Yes, I do.

Or is it something that can be learned?

I think it can be learned as well.

What is the best advice you have ever been given in your field of Art?

To step back way away from my work often and see what it looks like

from distance.

More interviews here http://wp.me/PO9du-sY

Leave a Reply

