Artisan Interviews with Kathleen Pulz Vitality Fine Art Show “Creating Life Pathways” Event at Kradwell in Tosa

Another great Interview from Kathleen Pulz a inspirational Painter, she will be joining us at the our Community event; Vitality Fine Art Show  “Creating Life Pathways”. May 21st at the Aurora Grounds off the village of Tosa.

A Kathleen Pulz Creation

First off – can we have a little background information on you – Where
you live? (if you don’t mind answering)

I live with my family of six in the heart of Wauwatosa.  I grew up in Wauwatosa in a family of 12. My family growing up had limited resources, and the lack of resources encouraged self-sufficiency as well as creativity.

What first drew you to Art?

Many of my family members are artistically inclined, whether it is music, theatre or art. As children, we had to make our own fun. My parents used to sing to us regularly in the car, harmonizing voices to keep their brood manageable in the tight quarters of a car. Our family participated in community theatre, while some of us were drawn to creating art. For me it was clay, and then eventually painting.

How would you describe your medium?

I use mainly oils and canvass to express the thoughts/feelings/insights that don’t have words.
What does it feel like to create?

To create has its challenges as well as its ecstasies. At certain points of doing a work it is clearly intellectual. Other times it’s emotional. Sometimes it’s a meditation.
What motivates you? What inspires you?

My children, nature, music

Are you working on any new Art Projects (if more than one); Tell us about your main project?

Right now I am working on a series of trees, on unframed 10×10 canvasses. They stand alone as pieces of art or in a collection of many different works. Birch trees in summer, apple trees in spring, or oak in winter. I have always had an attraction to trees and have many paintings that feature them. This is another attempt to explore them.

What advice would you a young Artisan in promoting their Art?

I would suggest becoming a member in as many art organizations that you can. There you can meet other artists and network.
Do you think that being an Artisan is something that is in your blood?

Most definitely. I think some people are in touch with that side of themselves very early on, and for others it’s recognizing that part in you and letting it free.
Or is it something that can be learned? 

I think you can learn to find your creative side, or learn to allow it to come out.
What is the best advice you have ever been given in your field of Art?
How many hours do you work daily on your Art and what are your daily
tasks for your work?

I don’t work on my art as often as I would like to. I am quite busy with raising 2 teenagers and my ten-year old and the many activities they need me for.
What will you be showing at the Vitality Fine Art Fair, Creating Life
Pathways; in the
Learning Gardens at Kradwell?

Nature, to me, is the greatest healer of the soul there is, hence, my trees.

More interviews to follow-You can read about the other Artisans who will be showing by clicking here http://wp.me/PO9du-sY

Leave a Reply

