Made in Milwaukee Artisan Interviews

Made in Milwaukee

Set for September 4th at Cathedral Square Park in Milwaukee a full day of Family fun and Buy Local, Buy Green opportunities, Music, Beer tasting, Film Festival, Kids Fair, Fashion Show, Coffee Tasting, Local Business Fair and…

Art

Eastown link to full festival schedule  Made In Milwaukee

Milwaukee Magazine Presents:

Made in Milwaukee
Saturday, September 4th 2010
8:30am-10pm
Cathedral Square Park

Made in Milwaukee is a non-profit organization which exists to highlight and enrich the culture of Milwaukee by creating a platform for artists and local business to interact and interface with the community in an open, free and  public setting.

There were only Twenty Artists asked to join the festival this year and here are some of them.

Grab a coffee, Sit back, and enjoy the pre-show

Angela Smith DQueens Collection

Angela Smith of DqueensCrowns

contact: dqueenrein@yahoo.com

VLSculptures: What first drew you to art?

ASmithDqueensCrowns: I always loved colors.. I always wanted to wear the brightest clothes to daycare…

VLSculptures: How long ago was that?

ASmithDqueensCrowns: A loooong time ago…..

VLSculptures: Where is that first piece of Art you created?

ASmithDqueensCrowns: It’s a hat, hanging on a hat hook in my sewing studio

VLSculptures: note I’ve asked for a picture for us to see

VLSculptures:How would you describe your medium?

ASmithDqueensCrowns: Fiber, vintage fabrics, cast-off clothing and jeans

VLSculptures: How would you describe the feeling you get when you create?

ASmithDqueensCrowns: It’s this joy of creating something that I never know was inside me, it’s very exciting.

VLSculptures: What most inspires you?

ASmithDqueensCrowns: I am inspired by things out of balance, not finished all pretty, torn, ragged, rusted, damaged cast-off I see the possibilities in those things and items.

VLSculptures: What will you be showcasing as your favorite work Made in Milwaukee?

ASmithDqueensCrowns: My hats, purses and accessories

VLSculptures: What is one thing you want people to know about you or your Art?

ASmithDqueensCrowns: The I am conscious about the items I make,they have positive energy, I work to recycle and not waste. I hope they can feel  that when they wear one of my hats or purses.

Judy Tolly Creation

Judy Tolley
Collage Artist

contact: judytolley@yahoo.com

VLSculptures: What first drew you to art?

Judy Tolley: I was first drawn to Art when attending an outsider art fair in New York.

VLSculptures: How long ago was that?

Judy Tolley: That was about 6 years ago.

VLSculptures: Where is that first piece of Art you created?
Judy Tolley: I believe that the first piece of art that I created was sold and is hanging in an office.

VLSculptures:How would you describe your medium?
Judy Tolley: I do Collage on canvas.

VLSculptures: What most inspires you?

Judy Tolley: I get inspired at art shows, books stores and just sitting down to create a new piece.

VLSculptures: How would you describe the feeling you get when you create?
Judy Tolley: I am a little anxious when I start out with a new idea. The complete concept usually doesn’t  happen immediately.

VLSculptures: What will you be showcasing as your favorite work Made in Milwaukee?

Judy Tolley: I am not showcasing any particular piece at “Made in Milwaukee”, but will show a variety of work.

VLSculptures: What is one thing you want people to know about you or your Art?

Judy Tolley: I believe that making art is fun and I hope that it shows in my work.

Paula Christensen Creation

Paula Christensen

Paula’s Palette

email: paulaspalette@sbcglobal.net

VL Sculptures: What first drew you to art?

Paula Christensen Paula’s Palette: My Parents – They were big into the arts, all arts.  My home was filled with classical music, film and learning about the arts.  At an early age, my parents bought my good art supplies.  Canvas, acrylic paints, oils.

VL Sculptures: How long ago was that?

Paula Christensen Paula’s Palette:-47 years ago

VL Sculptures: Where is that first piece of Art you created?

Paula Christensen Paula’s Palette:– In my home, on the East Side

VL Sculptures: How would you describe your medium?

Paula Christensen Paula’s Palette:– Mixed – I loved color, and texture.  So the mediums I combine, the more I am inspired.

VL Sculptures: How would you describe the feeling you get when you create?

Paula Christensen Paula’s Palette: Breathing.  Exhilarating.  I am unable NOT to create.  I have no choice, its what I do.

VL Sculptures: What most inspires you?

Paula Christensen Paula’s Palette: Environments.  Travel inspires me the most.  New colors, new textures. Italy inspires me the most.

VL Sculptures: What will you be showcasing as your favorite work Made in Milwaukee?

Paula Christensen Paula’s Palette: Mainly my hand painted wearable’s.  I find the size sells well in outdoor shows.

VL Sculptures: What is one thing you want people to know about you or your Art?

Paula Christensen Paula’s Palette: It’s all original, hand-painted and made with thoughtfulness.

Nicole Acosta

Milwaukee Mijas Photographer

www.nicoleacostaphotography.com

VL Sculptures: What first drew you to art?

Nicole Acosta I attended Milwaukee HS of the Arts and I fell in love with photography there. I had a great mentor and when I first viewed a photograph by Richard Avedon, I fell in love.

VL Sculptures: How long ago was that?

Nicole Acosta 1997

VL Sculptures: Where is that first piece of Art you created?

Nicole Acosta I still have the very first photograph I developed and printed in my home.

VL Sculptures: How would you describe your medium?

Nicole Acosta Photography

VL Sculptures: How would you describe the feeling you get when you create?

Nicole Acosta I get a rush!

VL Sculptures: What most inspires you?

Nicole Acosta People, old objects, vintage pieces, rust, color, music…

VL Sculptures: What will you be showcasing as your favorite work Made in Milwaukee?

Nicole Acosta A lot of photos!

VL Sculptures: What is one thing you want people to know about you or your Art?

Nicole Acosta That its ok to be different and out of the ordinary because people will still be receptive. I am passionate about my work and I need photography like I need air. You can view my work at www.nicoleacostaphotography.com

francesca close up

Valorie Schleicher

VL Schleicher Sculptures

ValorieSchleicher.wordpress.com/gallery and http://www.vlsculptures.com

I am the blogger and I am showing in the Made in Milwaukee Show and thought I’d give you some background.

I was first drawn to Art at Douglas Roads School in Milwaukee, WI. it was kindergarten and we were asked to draw something. I chose a Clown, with big read hair and large round nose. The principle Mrs. Mannex, framed it and put it in her office. Many years later I tried to reclaim it but Mrs. Mannex was no longer there and no one had any idea where the drawing was.

My Art Medium is both sculptural images in clay and Photography. While I have done almost every medium I could get my hands on and I settled into clay and Photography to express my Art.

When I create I, I seem to go into this space I’ll call my essence space and allow the passage through my mind anything that my soul wants me to experience or express. While it’s a quiet place, a mind thing, It’s a place where I can find myself laughing out loud as I work. Some of my images come to me through dreams, there like a slide show with images stacking upon each other as they fly by.

I am most inspired by nature, women, archeology, history and different culture. They have taught me to see the world in a different light.

I will be showcasing my large leaves approx. 43″ tall by 35″ wide three versions Spring, Summer and Winter. I will also be showing my Strong Woman Series, Jen; Mrs. Fran Frankin has graciously allowed me to show Francesca and Dorothy From the Dooryard Gallery allowed me to borrow Turtle Island. Along with these I will have some of my Photography from Italy with me.

I describe my art as original as no two are alike, My Art has been described as alive, moving, organic, eclectic, and mostly “I’ve never seen anything like this!” I believe that most Artisans who work from their soul create pieces of Art that are original and inspiring.


more interviews to follow…

Leave a Reply

