See it…taste it…buy it… love it! Forks & Corks Sept 17th

See it…taste it…buy it… love it!

Forks & Corks

Forks & Corks

Forks & Corks is September 17th 5:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m.

If you have never had a chance to see this event it is well worth your time. Enjoy food, music, wine and wonderful Art from local and regional Artisans.

Location

West Allis Farmer’s Market
6501 W. National Ave.
West Allis, WI
Forks & Corks you will meander through the market tasting samples from over twenty restaurants from West Allis and West Milwaukee. While you sample their wonderful cuisine you will be able to delight your palate with the great wines from Golden Harvest Distributor where they will offer you eighty different wines and a few beers to sample. Along side of each of these you will be able to browse stunning Art in as many mediums as you can imagine all while listening to great music

Tickets are $35 in advance $45.00 at the door and for National City / PNC customers it is $30.00

The Artisans this year cover the mediums of jewelery, painting, ornamental plaster, sculpture, wearable art, gourd art, glass, photography, mosaic, sophisticated hand-made rings and much much more.

2010forkscorkstapplication

Artisans

This year we will showcase the following Artisans and here is a taste of the Art they create in their own words.

DonnaFirenzaDesigns Creation

Donna Adrian Firenza Designs

http://firenzadesigns.com/index.html


Donna bring the individuality of the regions she’s traveled into her designs and uses her travels as a source for components from virtually everywhere in the world to insure an ever-evolving specialty of designs, using the highest quality of silver, stones and beads.

AlainaBurnettCreation

Alaina Burnett, Jewelry

http://www.alainaburnett.com

What first drew you to art?

I have always been creative. I have loved to write, draw, paint, and simply create from a very young age. I feel blessed to have a family that supported and encouraged that creativity from the beginning. There was never a question in my mind that I would dedicate my life to art. When I discovered jewelry making I knew that I had found the perfect medium for me. I have collected gems and fossils most of my life and ultimately found that jewelry design is the perfect way to express that fascination with geology and ancient history.

How long ago was that?

I began making jewelry when I was twelve years old (fifteen years ago). I actually started with seed beads and fishing line! I then began to study the art form of beading and developed my skill and style over time. It wasn’t until I was a teenager that I really began to develop my style.

How would you describe your medium?

Jewelry is a captivating medium. Because it is functional art it affects people in many ways at once. You see the jewelry piece itself, how it accentuates the beauty of the person wearing it, as well as the way it compliments what the person is wearing with it. Jewelry can both be the stand out piece of an ensemble or it can blend with it in order to complete the picture. I love that I get to make a statement when making the piece and its owner gets to carry that statement further by how they choose to wear it.   As I developed my style, I decided to work specifically with natural gemstones, fossils, and sterling silver. There has always been something very alluring about natural gems and fossils to me. Knowing that they come from the earth and the gorgeous colors, patterns, and textures are created naturally fascinates me to this day. I chose sterling silver because it is the most reflective of the precious metals. My work is focused on the stones that I use but I love to incorporate sterling silver to create contrast and little pops of light and sparkle.

How would you describe the feeling you get when you create?

Nothing could ever replace the joy I feel when creating my jewelry. I love what I do and designing new pieces for my collection is a lot of fun! Nearly all of my work is one of a kind so I literally get to start from scratch pretty much every time I sit down at my work table. I hand select my materials in person so that I can choose the best quality but also so that I can begin the design process in my mind before I even get to my studio. My favorite way to design is to first choose the stone or fossil that will be the focal point and study it for a while. I pick out the colors, patterns, and textures and begin to pull other materials that will draw those characteristics out of the focal piece. It really feels like I get to play with my favorite toys for a living. I feel very blessed to be able to dedicate my life to my passion.

What will you be showcasing as your favorite work at Forks & Corks?

I always struggle to choose a favorite piece because each completed piece holds a special place in my heart. I have found that for my late summer/early fall collection I have been drawn to vibrant colors. I work with natural materials (nothing dyed) so when I find natural jaspers, agates, etc. with intense color saturation I get a little giddy! So at Tosa Fest and Forks & Corks expect to see beautiful greens, oranges, and reds balanced with more earthy tones.

What is one thing you want people to know about you or your Art?

If you walk away knowing only one thing about who I am as an artist, know that each piece I create comes straight from my heart. I have a deep passion for jewelry making and the materials I use. My collection is a reflection of who I am. I design each piece to reflect my bold, natural, and archaeological style. It is my desire that every piece of my jewelry bring as much joy to the person wearing it as it brought me as I created it.    

Alaina Burnett
414-881-1501
aburnettdesigns@aol.com
http://www.alainaburnett.com

RaffiBalianCreation

Raffi Balian

Photographer http://www.rafsphotos.com

Images from across the world making you feel as if your standing fight there.

DebraStubbeBurkartCreation

Debra Stubbe Burkart

Acrylics, Giclee prints, Photography,

http://www.debrastubbeburkart.com

Art was something that set me apart from the rest of my peers. I always wanted to make something out of nothing and make it my own. It was as early as I can remember. Creating cities in my parents garden with sticks and a garden hose for rivers. I’d also draw found objects such as bark or hardware that would totally occupy my time. Colored chalk and pencil was our choice of medium.
When I create a piece of art I feel free, no borders or limitations. Paris fragments done on raw canvas with magic marker and acrylic paint I always try to keep producing new art it’s important to just keep on challenging myself as an artist. I love it when people get involved with my paintings.

Remembering a time when they were in Paris or just special moments. One thing that stands out about my art is the
combination of mediums used that gives a unique style to my paintings unlike anyone else. It’s illustrative yet painterly.

Bead Trotters In Harmony

http://www.beadtrotters.com and

http://morningprayers.wordpress.com/beadwork-gallery/

The Beadtrotters are four experienced beaders

Cindy Collins, Judy Menting, Paulette Biedenbender and Sue Stachelski

who love teaching beading, polymer clay, wirework, and chain maille.

From Paulette Biedenbender one of the four Beadtrotters

What first drew you to art?


As long as I can remember, I’ve always liked to dabble in some type of arts or crafts. I made sure I had at least one art class each year in high school – even joined the “art club”, which both my children have called me a nerd for doing so.

How long ago was that?
The first time I ever did anything with beads was back in the late 60s, when “love beads” became a fad. I began stringing up necklaces like crazy. Then in Art Club in the mid-70s (the nerdy thing) we learned how to do wire-wrapped earrings and add beads. Who knew that years later, I would be doing this again.

How would you describe your medium?
Various beads; glass, semi-precious gemstones, shells, pearls and wood. Basically, if there’s a hole in it and can be strung or woven into something – it doesn’t have a chance staying “loose”!

How would you describe the feeling you get when you create?
It’s definitely exhilarating, especially if I’ve had a bit of a creativity block along the way.

What will you be showcasing as your favorite work at Tosa Fest and Forks & Corks?
Recently, I’ve doing a few more pieces of bead embroidery and will have a couple available at Forks & Corks. However, my work is a wide range of beaded jewelry – no two alike. Perhaps something close to a design I’ve had published in the past, but nothing the same.

What is one thing you want people to know about you or your Art?
It’s everything from plain and casual, to bold and brassy. Just depends what mood I’m in.

more to follow with the other Beadtrotters…

Trina Eve

hand painted glass and glass wear

contact: trinaeve@yahoo.com

What first drew you to art?

I’ve dabbled in many different art forms, stained glass, clay and painting. After my husband passed away, I needed something to keep me busy that wasn’t a reminder of that awful time, so I took some faux finishing and painting classes and just kept going.  It wasn’t long before I starting teaching others to paint.

How long ago was that?

I’ve always been interested in the arts, mostly fiber, sewing, quilting, designing.  I started sewing when I was 4 years old with my mother and her sewing group, but I really became active in painting 16 years ago when I was dealing with the death of my husband.  It was great therapy and I learned that I loved to paint and share my work with others.


How would you describe your medium?

I paint furniture, glass ware and home décor items.  I also paint walls, windows garden ware and lots of other things.

How would you describe the feeling you get when you create?

Painting made it possible for me to deal with a difficult part of my life and let me immerse myself in my projects and take me away for a little while.

I love to change something and make it prettier than it was, or give it new life.

What will you be showcasing as your favorite work at Tosa Fest or   Forks & Corks?

At Forks & Corks, I will be showcasing my beautiful hand painted wine glasses and serving pieces. I’ll also be showcasing some really nice lanterns.


What is one thing you want people to know about you or your Art?

I want people to know that they can have beautiful pieces of useful art that was painted by me. Or….they can contact me for lessons.  I teach at several places around Milwaukee.


DarciFreitagCreation

Darci Freitag


Acrylic Paintings email Darci678@gmail.com

I've always loved drawing ever since I was a child. 
I would take long walks on the paths near my house and
look for details in the trees, gravel, pavement, and anything
else that was in my vision but one of the things that
inspires me most are the strong women in my life.  I
am the youngest of three girls, with a mother working
full time through out my childhood.  

My work today symbolizes the feminine form and
feelings that go along with the representation of women
in our culture.  As a feminist, I believe it is important
to represent women not as objectified individuals,
but rather as beautiful, harmonious creatures on earth. 
Currently, most of my work are paintings with acrylic on
canvas.  

When I produce my artwork I have the idea of equality
and beauty for all women, no matter what shape or form. 
So many of the colors in my paintings, inspired by
Klimdt, represent the patterns and obstacles women go through.  

As one of my favorite art works, I will be show casing
"A woman's Form",   one of my first large scale paintings
with acrylic and canvas.  As an artist, I attempt to communicate
my feelings of womanhood and equality through my art work
representing women in a positive light.

EarleanFredKurtinCreation

Earlean & Fred Kurtin

Adobe Echoes; Hand crafted and hand shelled gourds into bowls,

baskets, birdhouses and other pieces of wonderful art

email fredkurtin@netzero.net

About the artists

Earlean is a retired commercial artist with a Bachelors degree in Fine Arts from Layton School of Arts which is now MIAD.  She worked in several art studios, the art department at Allen-Bradley Co. and had her own free-lance business.  She teaches watercolor painting and has been working with gourds for over 15 years. She has entered gourd competition and has won several awards for her work.

Fred is a retired facilities engineer with a Masters in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Wisconsin system.  He worked in facilities engineering and construction management for 33 years and retired as Manager of Facilities Engineering at Rockwell Automation.  He has been helping Earlean and has been working with gourds for over 10 years.

About the Gourds

All the gourds we use are hard shell gourds that have been fully dried for at least a year.  We purchase our gourds from growers in Arkansas, Mississippi, Alabama, and Florida which all have a longer and warmer growing season enabling the gourds to become larger and have a thicker shell.  We go directly to the grower and hand pick all our gourds with specifics sizes and shapes depending upon the ultimate art project we will create.  We thoroughly clean the exterior and then cut and embellish them to create a functional art object.

About the Artwork

Once we have cleaned and cut the gourd, the designs are wood-burned into the surface making them permanent.  We use high quality leather dyes to color the surface and add various materials to the gourd including but not limited to pine needles, sisal cord, stained glass and silver.  All gourds are sealed with polyethylene for protection.  Among the items we create are baskets, bowls with or without lids, jewelry including earrings and pins, functional dry material scoops and a wide variety of art objects.  We are constantly creating new items and trying new techniques on them. Earlean has developed several finishing techniques for the surfaces of the gourds over the years and these are unique to the gourd art field.  In 2010, she will be using several of these for the first time on gourds available for viewing and sale.  We also create a line of birdhouses, bird feeders and butterfly houses from gourds.  All items designed for the outside elements receive a coating UV spray followed by several coats of spar polyethylene after the artwork is done so they can be placed outside.  We recommend taking all exterior gourd items in for the winter so they don’t have to go thru the freeze-thaw cycle.

GraceMatsonCreation

Grace Matson

Photographer

http://www.graceful.imagekind.com

What first drew me to art? 
 
As a child in grade school, I always made sure I took art classes.
They were enjoyable for me, and a "relief" or "release" from the every day
"must have" courses. This was as far back as the early 1970's.
 
My "best" medium is photography. Describing it is tough. Today, it
seems, most people feel that they can create a pleasant photo that
they are happy with. But having the vision and eye for photography is
something you cannot learn. It is, I feel, something you have in you
from early on, as is the case with most other artists and media.
 
The feelings I get from taking photographs are excitement, intensity
and pleasure all in one. Trying to capture something the way I want it
to be, and also the way I hope my viewers will enjoy is a challenge.
But it's a challenge I take on with passion.
 
At Forks 'N Corks, I will display three images from New York, which, I
feel, are the essence of the city during the Holidays. The city is
always alive with people, no matter what time of day, or what kind of
weather.
 
I hope that people will appreciate and enjoy viewing my art. If they
come away with a feeling of "awe", then I think I have done my job
well.
 

Grace produces photographic images of everyday life

Eugene Orlandini Creation

Eugene Orlandini

http://www.orlandinistudios.com

Ornamental Plaster new, repair and unique wall hangings all taken from their original displays across America from historical buildings to mansions a stunning site of International works.

Shelly Orlandini

Photographer

http://www.OrlandiniStudios.com

Shelly collects the images of everyday life in America and Europe. Her eye catches the things we may miss as we walk down the street. Shelly’s work can be seen at each gallery night at Orlandini’s studios on 6th & Virginia.


KathleenPulzCreation

Kathleen Pulz

htp://www.vintageoils.com

email: kpulz@att.net

What first drew you to art?

Having grown up in a large family, we had to do with very little, so creativity was a necessity for happiness. We couldn’t afford much in the way of instruction so most of us were self-taught whether it was sewing or drawing or learning an instrument. It wasn’t until Junior High that I was able to get instruction in art, taking classes in metal work, pottery and eventually painting. I didn’t have the confidence in college to major in art so I explored my other interests, poetry, dance, early childhood education and visual media. It wasn’t until my oldest child excelled in Art in high school, receiving a national award that I decided to pursue painting with passion and renewed confidence.

How long ago was that?

I’ve painted many images in my mind for years. Analyzing the sky for colors and finding the names to those colors, sitting in many galleries in front of great works, always pondering. When my son Frank got recognition for his talents in 2003, I decided not to wait any longer to rediscover the ache I had inside to paint, and I began taking classes from a local painter.

How would you describe your medium?

I paint with oils. Oil is a fluid medium and I find its texture sensuous. Because of its slow drying time, I can keep coming back to it for adjustments and additions, cultivating a deeper experience for myself, and eventually the viewer. Sometimes painting is like sculpting. When I use a pallet knife its like carving out images on the canvas or adding texture to a range of trees or depth to a flower.

How would you describe the feeling you get when you create?

Painting, creating anything, is such a process, first of all. My interests are many, the human body, nature, the day-to-day stuff we do to live.  Through my art, I try to represent my general impressions on a scene, to bring out what I see and want in life, which is warmth, love, and an appreciation of the beauty of our world.

I often work from photos, only to help me recall my impression of someplace, some experience I had. Sometimes painting can feel like being on a roller coaster—thrilling at one point, anxiety-filled the next, but always satisfying in the end. I am forever exhilarated and excited. I hope the viewer receives the intended experience of my paintings and more.

What will you be showcasing as your favorite work at Forks & Corks?

I am forever infatuated with trees and if I could have been an animal in this life I would want to be a bird. Birds fascinate me and so I have included them in my latest works.

I was in Paris last year and there are no words to describe its beauty. I happen to be there when the weather was perfect and so my latest works include several paintings from this trip.

What is one thing you want people to know about you or your Art?

I think art should be affordable to all. I think to own an original piece of it can never compare to a non-descript print – unless it is a Van Gogh or a Hopper or whatever. Your living space represents who you are and what is important to you. It offers to those that visit you something unique and personal. Art is an experience that can continue to give, long after you’ve adopted it.

Kathleen Leahy Pulz

414-617-1338

paintmyday@gmail.com

kpulz@att.net

www.vintageoils.com under reconstruction

www.paintmyday.org (under construction)


Katy Scott

cork screw Art

contact: k8tyscott@gmail.com

A note from Katy

I was born and raised in Milwaukee, Wi. For the past 9 years I’ve lived in the Northern California area, and just

love the natural beauty and organic quality of the wine region there. I create keepsake treasures and give vintage wine corks another life.

interview to follow…

MarySpencerCreation

Mary Spencer

StainedGlassFanatic@earthlink.net

What first drew you to art? 
 
I've always had a creative side since I was a child designing my own clothes and
doll clothes. I studied art formally for awhile but lost interest when I was forced to
 obey the "rules". My desire to be creative again came after the death of my spouse. 
It was a way to fill time and express my emotions. My love for working with glass
developed out of need as well.  I wanted stained glass windows for the double/French
doors to my bedroom.  A friend of mine allowed me to explore her studio. 
I score some glass and it was love at first snap!
 
How long ago was that? 
That was about 10 years ago.
 
How would you describe your medium? 
All of my work has some element of glass.  Even if I paint on canvas glass will
be incorporated into the piece.  I may work with metal, wood, painted canvas,
painted glass windows, etc. but again all incorporating glass. I also do glass mosaics.
Also, my work is very diverse.  I don't do just flowers, trees, or people.  I love
the diversity.  It's part of my core.
 
How would you describe the feeling you get when you create? Many
times
It is a way for me to escape.  I have often found myself in a zone, Losing all track
of time. If I have something on my mind that I feel I need to express in art, I don't
rest until I at least get a sketch on paper.  
 
 
What will you be showcasing as your favorite work at Tosa Fest 
It's difficult to say as I have a couple of favorites. 
 
Right now on the top of my list is my "Church People" Series.  These are large
windows I painted and stained using a combination of tradition method and reverse
painting method.  The theme is near and dear to my heart and the colors are vibrant
and "happy". But another favorite which I am leaning more towards bringing is a
painting on glass of a vintage prairie style window (about  4 plus feet) of a
contemporary African woman 
 
 
What is one thing you want people to know about you or your Art?

 I have friends that say things like "you should do more of these" or
"you should do more of that", but I do what I feel from my heart and my soul.
My art makes me happy.  Although I like when I make a sale, merchandising is not
my mind or my goal when I work.  When someone makes a purchase from me
I hope that they do so because there is something about the piece that speaks to them. 
 

Michelle Moughmer Creation

Michelle Wildgruber

Ceramics & Pottery; Many of you may know her as Michelle Moughmer

http://www.mmoughmerart.etsy.com

What first drew you to art?

My dad is a professional industrial photographer and would bring me to work as a little girl. He would give me a pad of paper and a big variety of pens/markers and let me go to town. As I got a bit older he would show me how he develops photo's in the dark room. I started out doing some of my photography but that led to painting in high school and that led to ceramics in outside classes. My youthful enthusiasm has turned into committed passion.

How long ago was that?

I was about 5 years old when he started bringing me to work.

How would you describe your medium?

I find it difficult to limit myself to one medium. I have many creative outlets. I am not afraid to move from style to style, avoiding an allegiance to one or another mode of representation. I openly defy the rule that an artist must establish a recognizable signature and hold to it to succeed commercially.  My interest less in career building academic credentials than in personal development. But I would say Raku ceramics is my main interest now.

How would you describe the feeling you get when you create?

I feel enjoyment working with my hands. Being able to show my interests in images, geometrical shapes and colors in the pottery that I create is great.

What will you be showcasing as your favorite work at
Forks & Corks?

My Framed Ceramic tiles seem to be my favorite. I have different themes and can get creative with the color glazes.

What is one thing you want people to know about you or your Art?

The act of creating art is a powerful way to express my feelings of life.

Forks&Corks Poster

We’ll post more as the Artisan Interviews progressValorie Schleicher

What first drew me to art? As a child in grade school, I always made
sure I took art classes. They were enjoyable for me, and a "relief" or
"release" from the every day "must have" courses. This was as far back
as the early 1970's.
My "best" medium is photography. Describing it is tough. Today, it
seems, most people feel that they can create a pleasant photo that
they are happy with. But having the vision and eye for photography is
something you cannot learn. It is, I feel, something you have in you
from early on, as is the case with most other artists and media.
The feelings I get from taking photographs are excitement, intensity
and pleasure all in one. Trying to capture something the way I want it
to be, and also the way I hope my viewers will enjoy is a challenge.
But it's a challenge I take on with passion.
At Forks 'N Corks, I will display three images from New York, which, I
feel, are the essence of the city during the Holidays. The city is
always alive with people, no matter what time of day, or what kind of
weather.
I hope that people will appreciate and enjoy viewing my art. If they
come away with a feeling of "awe", then I think I have done my job
well.

Forks & Corks

Forks & Corks

Comments
3 Responses to “See it…taste it…buy it… love it! Forks & Corks Sept 17th”
  1. Grace says:

    Val,
    This is great! Thanks for doing this, I appreciate it! I have a blog started now, too. http://gracartsblog.wordpress.com
    Please take a look and let me know your thoughts and ideas.

    Grace Matson

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] to see the artisans click here to get tickets click here […]



Leave a Reply

