Day is over, amazing day

Lilie turned out beautiful, she needs a little more contrast she was quite monochromatic at cone 6 2240 degrees. Lowering the temperature to 1940 added my favorite leaf green and whitened the lilie proper will post images in the a.m.; camera is in shop. Kiln is at 1766 at 9:15 pm will be done in a few hours.

As with all things that turn right something goes wrong. The temperature was too high for a few of the hand made glazes and they melted onto my kiln shelves two of them refuse to budge. After 10 years of firing this is my first time to have a glaze melt onto the shelves. 5 Shelves need grinding and re-washed. Hopefully they are recoverable other wise it’s a big expense at this time of the year, ouch. I am using older heaver shelves for glaze two firing. Being 4’11” and reaching into a kiln that is 10 sq. foot it takes a lot of balance and upper body strength to reach to the bottom of the kiln.

Grief class was as expected it’s like cultures we all grieve differently and mourning is different than grief. Fallacies of grief we need to just get over it and move on. Truth is we all do it at our own pace and bring to it what we have within ourselves. I remember when my father died, his best friend Wayne Fraker stood next to me at the casket and spoke of the days when they skipped school together and went fishing. He reached for my small twelve year old hand and held it as he spoke about the life and times of his childhood with my father. I saw my father as I was at that same time running to experience each breath of life that I could take in, laughing fishing, climbing trees, being human, being a kid. I thank Wayne often for the gift he gave me that day learning to grieve through celebration, laughter and tears.

My sister a few years older than I had a different experience that day; she today will not view a deceased person avoids funerals and grieves her own way. We are quite different, the same person in our lives died, our father and two ways of grieving and mourning that loss and carrying that memory through out our lives. As long as we can not judge how the other one grieves we will acknowledge the loss, grief and move forward. Teach kids its OK to celebrate life with tears.

Comments
2 Responses to “Day is over, amazing day”
  1. Linda thanks for your comments I will post you some thoughts as soon as I get a chance on the differences and how we all need to have compassion when dealing with self and others when they/we are in grief or mourning. Have a great day!-Val

  2. Linda says:

    Dear Valorie

    Talking about grief and mourning, I found your words interesting and I agree with you. After losing my husband of 30 years, I behaved in a very “strange” way.
    I myself have a post/page on that subject and expand on what I have said above.
    My blog http://www.bennyville.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

